2009 Summer Season
Double A Division Champions

2009 PCBL Double A Division Champions, Breakers

Breakers (5) (9-8-1) -vs- Sharks (2) (14-4)
August 23, 2009 @ Epicenter Stadium, Rancho Cucamonga


Video Highlights from the Game

Breakers’ Imel puts on Hitting Clinic to Help Claim Title

By Scot Sweet / PCBL Staff Writer

This was the second game of our championship triple-header at the Epicenter in Rancho Cucamonga. This home of the minor league Quakes is the perfect setting for a day of championship baseball. With that being said, let’s go straight to the action …

The Breakers fail to score in the top half of the 1st inning; sending the Sharks up to bat to try and get on the board first. They leadoff with Dre Taitano who draws a walk. He’s followed by Bogdan Tamaleuski who singles; putting 2 on and nobody out for Jason King. King singles home a run. The next batter is Rich Armendariz who is hit by a pitch; loading the bases for Zac reader who singles home a pair. The Sharks end up with 4 runs in the inning to take the early 4-0 lead.

The Sharks come up in the bottom of the 2nd inning; still maintaining the 4-0 lead. With 1 out, Donte Neil is hit by a pitch. The next batter strikes out; bringing up leadoff hitter Dre Taitano who singles. Bogdan Tamaleuski, who singled in his first at bat, doubled to score a pair. The Sharks end up with 2 runs in the inning and now lead the Breakers by a score of 6-0 through 2 complete.

The Breakers get their first run in the top of the 3rd inning. Dan Bazil singles to lead things off; and soon after, he scores on a pass ball. But the Sharks get that run back in the bottom of the inning when John Daley gets an RBI single. The score is 7-1 sharks through 3 complete innings of play.

The score would remain 7-1 Sharks as we entered the top half of the 5th inning. With one out in the inning, Dan Bazil doubles. The next batter grounds out, sending up Tony Evangelista who reaches due to a fielding error. Another fielding error puts Matt cherry on; with a run scoring in the process. Rob Short responds with a single. The Breakers end up with 2 runs in the inning to cut the lead to 4; now down 7-3.

The Sharks fail to score in the bottom of the 5th; sending the Breakers up to try to close the 4-run gap. They leadoff with Jennings Imel, who singled in first 2 at bats. He does so again, making him 3 for 3 on the day. He is followed by Erich Magiar who singles to put 2 on Jason Richards, who also singles. John Moore grounds out, but gets an RBI as a run scores on the play. Moments later, a run would score on a fielding error. The Breakers get 2 runs in the inning and now trail by 2; down 7-5 through 5 ®ˆ innings of play.

The Sharks once again come up scoreless in the bottom of the inning; allowing the Breakers a chance to even things up as they come to bat in the top of the 7th inning. As it turns out, they do MUCH more than that. Adam Smith leads off the inning with a walk. Tony Evengelista follow with a single. Both runners would soon advance on a pass ball. Another pass ball scores a run. Matt Cherry follows with a single. There is a pitching change at this point, but this does little to stop the Breaker attack. Rob Short draws a walk,; followed by Scott Dunlap who is hit by a pitch. With the bases loaded, the next batter is Jennings Imel who is already 3 for 3 on the day with 3 singles. He doubles to clear the bases. Erich Magiar is then hit by a pitch to reach safely. Jason Richards follows with an RBI single. With 1 out in the inning, Josh Wilkinson singles home a pair. Dan Bazil follows with a base on balls. Adam Smith is then hit by a pitch. When all is said and done, the Breakers break this one wide open; scoring 8 runs in the top of the 7th inning – now leading 13-7.

With the Sharks shut down in the bottom of the inning, the Breakers would come up in the top of the 8th inning with a comfortable 13-7 lead. The first 2 batters would be retired; sending up Scott Dunlap who singles to keep the inning alive. Jennings Imel, who is a perfect 4 for 4 on the day; singles to give him an amazing 5 hits on the day. Erich Magiar comes up with 2 runners on and he singles them both home. The Breakers add 2 runs in the inning and now lead 15-7 through 7 innings of play.  

The Sharks finally manage to find some offense in the bottom of the 8th inning. Zac Reeder hits a 1-out double. Brandon Dean follows with a double to score Reeder. The next batter reaches by way of a fielding error. 2 batters later, Donte Neil singles home a run. The sharks settle for 2 runs in the bottom of the 8th; now trailing by a score of 15-9.

But the Breakers just have too much offense on this championship day. With 1 out in the top of the 9th, Josh Wilkinson singles. He is followed by James Duprey who draws a walk. Dan Bazil follows with an RBI single. Adam Smith responds with a 2-run double. 2 batters later, Matt Cherry slaps an RBI single. The Breakers find 4 more runs in their offense; now leading the Sharks by a score of 19-9.

Outside of a Jason King double; the Sharks would go down quietly in the bottom of the 9th inning. Congratulations to the 2009 AA Summer Champion Breakers for digging their way out of an early hole to win this championship in a big way; scoring 19 runs and holding the Sharks offense down in the stretch!  

Game Time:             2:15pm  -  5:58pm   (3 hrs, 43 min)

Inning Breakdown:
            Breakers     0     0     1     0     2     2     8     2     4     19   21   3              Sharks     4     2     1     0     0     0     0     2     0      9    12   5

Breakers’ Offensive Stars:
Jennings Imel     5 for 5; 4 singles, double, 3 RBI’s, 2 runs  (MVP)
Erich Magiar         3 for 4;  3 singles, hit by pitch, 2 RBI’s, 2 runs
Josh Wilkinson      2 for 4; 2 singles, 2 RBI’s, 1 run
Dan Bazil              3 for 5;  2 singles, double, 1 RBI, 3 runs

Pitching stats:
Scott Dunlap (Breakers)  3 2/3 IP; Allowed 7 runs on 6 hits, 3 walks & 1 K
Matt Cherry  (Breakers)   3 2/3 IP; Allowed 2 runs on 4 hits, 1 walk & 3 K’s
Jennings Imel (Breakers)  1 1/3 IP; Allowed 0 runs on 2 hits, 1 walk & 1 K
Matthew Hanson (Sharks)  4 2/3 IP; Allowed 3 runs on 5 hits, 3 walks & 5 K’s
Michael Krutz (Sharks)  1 1/3 IP; Allowed 2 runs on 5 hits, 0 walks & 1 K
Rich Armendariz (Sharks) 1.2 IP
Jon Smallwood (Sharks)   1.1 IP 

Umpires:      (1st Base)    John Moore
                    (2nd Base)   Brian Marine
                    (3rd Base)    Nic Pontecorvo
                    (Plate)     Andrew Marquez