2009 Summer Season
Single A Division Champions

2009 PCBL Single A Division Champions, Regulators

Regulators (1) -vs- Hammers (2)
August 30, 2009 @ Storm Stadium, Lake Elsinore

Video Highlights of the Game

Regulators Mount Up on Offense to Claim Summer Title
By Scot Sweet / PCBL Staff Writer

Our Single A Championship game between the Hammers and the Regulators gave a new meaning to the term "early start". With time restrictions present at Storm Stadium in Lake Elsinore; we were forced to schedule this game for the bright and early hour of 6:30am. One good thing about that was the fact that the game-time temperature would not be a factor. At least not until later in the day, where temps were expected to reach 105 in the area. So as they say .. the early bird catches the worm. Time to get into some early morning PCBL action.
With the Hammers failing to score in the top of the opening inning, the Regulators come up in the bottom of the inning, looking to strike first. They leadoff with Tyler Thompson who singles to left to start things off for the Regulators. He's followed by Eric Johnson who also singles, putting two on and nobody out for Mike Rutter. He singles home a run and steals second moments later. The next batter is Jose Hurtado. He singles home a pair of runs. The Regulators settle for 3 runs in the inning to take the early 3-0 lead.

 The score would remain 3-0 Regulators as the Hammers came up to bat in the top of the 3rd inning. They leadoff with Tim Carlson who draws a walk and steals second shortly thereafter. The next 2 batters are retired; sending up Dave Roush with 2 out and a runner on 3rd. He singles to score Tim Carlson. The Hammers settle for 1 run in the inning; now trailing 3-1 through 2 1/2 innings of play.
The Hammers come up in the top of the 4th inning; still trailing 3-1. They leadoff with Cesar Corona who singles and steals second soon after. The next batter is Lalo Alonso, who doubles. Derric Taylor steps to the plate with 2 on and nobody out. He singles home a pair. Mike Scott would follow with a single; giving the Hammers 4 straight base hits in the inning. Pablo Rojas follows with a base on balls. 2 batters later, Tim Carlson singles home a run. the Hammers end up with 4 runs in the top of the 4th inning; now leading the Regulators by a score of 5-3.

The Regulators fail to score in the bottom of the 4th inning; sending the Hammers up in the top of the 5th to try and add to their lead. They leadoff with Dave Roush who draws a walk. He is later sacrificed over to 2nd base and steals 3rd after that. With 2 out in the inning, Lalo Alonso singles to score a run. The Hammers settle for the single run; and now lead the Regulators by a score of 6-3.
But here come the Regulators in the bottom of the 5th inning. They leadoff with Kris Domaradski who singles to left. Greg Granillo follows with a double. The next batter is Bryan Swarberg with no out and runners at 2nd and 3rd. He hit a hard ground ball through the legs of the 3rd baseman and into left field, scoring two. Manuel Gonzalez follows with a single. Starting pitcher Jared Yeash singles. Three batters later; with 2 outs in the inning, Tyler Thompson singles home a pair of runs. Eric Johnson follow with a 2-run triple. Mike rutter responds with an RBI single. Jose Hurtado follows with a base on balls. He is followed by Kris Domaradski who was the first batter of the inning. He gets his 2nd hit of the inning; and RBI double. When the smoke clears 14 batters later, a total of 10 runs had crossed the plate for the Regulators; who now lead the Hammers by a score of 13-6.

The Hammers leadoff hitter grounds out, sending up Pablo Rojas who singles. Tim McCleary follows with a single of his own. He is followed by Tim Carlson who doubles home a run. The Hammers end up with 1 run in the inning; now trailing by a score of 13-7. They come up in the top of the 7th inning with the score still 13-7. With 1 out in the inning, Dave Rosenberg singles; followed by Cesar Corona who walks. Lalo Alonso grounds out to the pitcher, but gets an RBI as a run scores. Derric Taylor follows with an RBI single to right. Mike Scott follows with a single to right. The Hammers settle for 2 runs in the inning; and now trail the Regulators by a score of 13-9 through 6 1/2 innings of play.
However, this would be as close as the Hammers would get at this point in the championship contest. The Regulators would go on to add a run in the 7th on a Tyler Thompson RBI; and 2 runs in the 8th inning, thanks to a Greg Granillo's 2-run double. The Regulators would end up shutting the Hammers down in the top of the 9th; thus taking this championship by a final score of 16-9.
Congratulations to the 2009 PCBL A Division Summer Season Champion Regulators; for mounting the huge 10-run offensive rally in the 5th innning ... all but eliminating the Hammers hopes for a title. And cudos go out to a solid Hammer squad for such a successful season and for making it to the big game this year.

Game Time: 6:45am - 9:130pm (2 hours, 28 mins)
Offensive Standouts (Regulators):
Tyler Thompson 3 for 4; 3 singles, 3 RBI's, 2 runs
Eric Johnson 2 for 4: single, triple, 2 RBI's, 2 runs
Greg Granillo 2 for 4: 2 doubles, 2 RBI's, 1 run
Mike Rutter 2 for 4; 2 singles, 2 RBI's, 2 runs
Jose Hurtado 2 for 3; single, double, walk, 2 RBI's, 2 runs
Kris Domaradski 2 for 3; single, double, HBP, 1 RBI, 2 runs

Box Score                            R H E
Hammers   0 0 1 4 1 1 2 0 0   9 13 5
Regulators 3 0 0 0 10 0 1 2 - 16 15 2
1st Base: Frank Pflugradt
3rd Base: Evan Hodges
Plate Ump: Jack Clingan
Pitching Stats:
WP Jared Yeash (Regulators) 7IP; Allowed 9 runs on 13 hits, 5 walks & 5 K's
LP Chris Temple (Hammers) 4 2/3 IP; Allowed 9 runs on 10hits, 1 walk & 3 K's