2010 PCBL O.C. Summer AAA-Div. Championship
Sun. 10/10 @ 6:00pm / USC Dedeaux Field
White Sox -vs- Mets




Sox Edge Mets in Championship Thriller

By Scot Sweet / PCBL Staff writer


This was the final game of our PCBL Orange County Championship triple-header at beautiful Rod Dedeaux Stadium at USC. The field was in perfect shape for this championship; as was the weather for this twilight game …. so let's get right to the action!

The Mets come up in the bottom of the 1st inning with the game still scoreless. Leadoff hitter Sean Wilson singles to start things off. He stole 2nd and reached 3rd on an error on the catcher shortly thereafter. The next 2 batters flew out to left; bringing up Ricardo Alatorre who draws a walk. The next batter is Ryan Lawrence. He hits an RBI single to left. The Mets settle for the lone run in the inning to take the early 1-0 lead.

The White Sox come to bat in the top of the 3rd inning; still trailing 1-0. Jeff Grampp draws a 1-out walk. Willie Keene follows with an infield hit. Jesse Brown reaches by way of a fielder's choice; with a run scoring on the play. Brandon Day reaches base due to error; with another run scoring on the play. Jon Tripp also reaches base due to an error. Tyler Reece gets his 2nd consecutive single. When all is said and done, the Sox get 4 runs in the inning; thanks to 3 costly Mets errors. They lead 4-1 through 2 ½ innings of play.

The White Sox come to bat in the top of the 6th inning; still leading by a 4-1 margin. With 2 out in the inning, Matt Clement singles. He's followed by Jeff Miller who hits an RBI triple. Moments later, Miller scores from 3rd due to an error on the 2nd baseman. The Sox get 2 runs in the inning; extending their lead to a score of 6-1.

The Mets lead off the bottom of the 6th inning with Ricardo Alatorre who draws a walk. He's followed by Ryan Lawrence who singles for his 2nd hit of the game. Two batters later, Albert Ramos gets an RBI single. The Mets settle for 1 run in the inning; now trailing the White Sox by a score of 6-2.

The Mets come to bat in the bottom of the 7th inning; still trailing 6-2. Anthony Welsh hits a 1-out single; followed by Travis Chapman who draws a walk. The next batter is Ricardo Alatorre with 2 on and 1 out. He singles to score a run. Batting next is Ryan Lawrence who already has 2 hits and an RBI on the day. He slaps a 2-run double to left-center field. The Mets get 3 big runs in the inning and now trail the Sox by 1 run; down 6-5 through 7 complete innings of play.

The Sox come up in the top of the 8th; suddenly finding it necessary to do whatever possible to maintain their slim lead. With 1 out, Tyler Reece singles to center. He's followed by Matt Clement who gets an infield base hit. The next batter is Jeff Miller, who hit an RBI triple in his last at-bat. He responds with an RBI single. The Sox get 1 run in the inning; now leading by a score of 7-5 through 7 ½ innings of play.

The Mets come up to bat in the bottom of the 9th inning; still trailing by a score of 7-5. They lead off with Travis Chapman who singles and reaches 2nd on a pass ball shortly thereafter. The next batter is Ricardo Alatorre who hit an RBI single in his last at-bat. He hits a single, scoring Chapman from 2nd to pull the Mets to within 1 run; down 7-6. However, outside of a walk to Ron Lippa; White Sox pitcher Jeff Grampp was able to bear down when it meant the most; striking out the side in the 9th and final inning.

Congratulations to both teams for putting on such a competative championship; and to the 2010 PCBL OC Summer Champion White Sox for holding on to claim the title!

Box Score
    0 0 4 0 0 2 0 1 0   7 11 1
  1 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 1   6 13 4

Pitching Stats
Jeff Grampp (Sox) CG; Allowed 6 runs on 12 hits; 5 BB & 7 K's
LP Anthony Welsh (Mets) CG; Allowed 7 runs on 11 hits; 2 BB & 7 K's

White Sox Offensive Contributers:
Jeff Miller 2 for 4; single, triple, 2 RBI's, 1 run
Tyler Reece 3 for 5; 3 singles, 1 run
Matt Clement 2 for 4; 2 singles, 1 run
Willie Keene 2 for 5; single, double, 1 run

Game Time: 6:05pm – 9:45pm (2 hrs, 40 min)

Pl) Heath Jones
1st) Kwan Kim
3rd) Evan Hughes